Greetings Stranger

coffee

A Prompt from The Daily Post

You’re sitting at a café when a stranger approaches you. This person asks what your name is, and, for some reason, you reply. The stranger nods, “I’ve been looking for you.” What happens next?

…………….

“Me?” I say in disbelief. “You’re looking for me?”

“I could be, that all depends,” he responds.

The whole thing is absurd; this man approaching me, out of the blue, to tell me I’m the one he’s looking for and then that I’m not the one he’s  looking for, but I could be. It’s nonsensical. Cautiously I ask, “On what?”

“How you answer these next three questions.”

With my curiosity outweighing my anxiety, I humor the fellow. “Alright, shoot.”

The first question is simple, “Do you seek adventure?”

“Every day of my life,” I say coolly.

“Are you brave?”

“Braver than I believe,” I answer, quoting Christopher Robin.

Then, with an outstretched hand, he asks his final question: “Can you take a leap of faith?”

I look at him and I look at his hand. Could I take a leap of faith? This man has told me nothing; not who he is, not what he wants, nor what he plans to do next. He’s a stranger. He’s dangerous and mysterious and he can’t be trusted. Every ounce of my being tells me to say “No” and send him away and forget this ever happened, but I can’t bring myself to do it. I don’t know what will happen if I take this man’s hand, but I do know what will happen if I don’t. I will go back to the mediocre life I have now; a life that includes a steady job, a crappy apartment, countless failed relationships, one loyal cat, and a heart full of desire for something more. I look at this stranger in front of me and I see promise of change. Whether he took me on a grand adventure, like he’s implying, or whether he leaves me for dead in some alley, this man offers an escape from the life I have.

Mustering all my courage, I take his hand and whisper, “Yes.” And in one swift movement, clasping my hand, he sweeps me up from the table and pulls me out the door.

Leave a Reply

