What I Like Best

pooh

“Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best,” and then he had to stop and think. Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.”

What I like best is looking at old pictures and reminiscing; I like best sitting alone and watching the world move around me; I like best watching old movies and falling in love with the characters again; I like best singing and dancing to my favorite music; I like best the smell of brand new tennis shoes and the smell of go-kart exhaust; I like best eating large dinners surrounded by family and friends; I like best the sound of my name being used by a stranger; I like best the aching of my muscles the day after a strenuous workout; I like best the feeling of weightlessness and absolute silence underneath water; I like best the flight of stomach butterflies caused by a sudden drop; I like best the comfort of long hugs and the feeling of another’s hand in mine; I like best watching others find happiness and fall in love; I like best listening to the accents of foreigners; I like best being absolutely dumbfounded at the hands of mystery novels and magicians; I like best daydreaming of things that could be; I like best the feeling just as my head hits the pillow for the night; I like best the final release of tears after I’ve been restraining them for so long; I like best listening to children talk and getting a glimpse at the way they make sense of things in their underdeveloped mind; I like best the satisfaction of eating a freshly, perfectly baked chocolate chip cookie; but what I like most is knowing that each new day offers another chance for me to experience these simple pleasures again.

Leave a Reply

